2017 Founders Day Celebration

This year, Katy ISD Council of PTAs held their annual Founders Day Celebration at Palacio Maria on February 16th.  Lisa Holbrook, Texas PTA President, decided to wrap up her trip visiting the Platinum level “Voice for Every Child” Award recipients by attending the celebration.

Founders Day is the annual celebration of the founding of PTA.  It is traditionally held in February.  At the dinner, PTAs in Katy, celebrate their Life Membership and Extended Service Award recipients.

In 1909, Texas PTA created the Texas PTA Honorary Life Membership as one of the highest honors presented to individuals for outstanding service to children and youth.  The only requirement for receiving a Texas PTA Honorary Life Membership is that the recipient is making or has made a worthwhile contribution to the wellbeing of children and youth.

In 1987, the Texas PTA Board of Directors developed the criteria for awarding a Texas PTA Extended Service Award to those people who have continued to give outstanding service to Texas PTA.  The recipient must have been actively involved in the Texas PTA for 10 years and be a Texas PTA Honorary Life Member.

This year, Katy ISD Council of PTAs decided to award Rebecca Fox with a Life Membership Award and Lisa Johns with an Extended Service Award.  The following awardees were recognized February 16th with a Life Membership Award:

From Beck Junior High:  Carrie Gay, Lori Schusterman, Kevin Weber, and Rebecca Fox (Extended Service).

From Beckendorff Junior High: Michael Chuter, Jamie Bailey, Kimberly Warwick, Jennifer Alcoser, Rikke Jagdev, and Amy Parsons.

From Bonnie Holland Elementary:  Carrie Breaux and Kim Greene.

From Cinco Ranch High School:  Anita Kuhlmann, Dana Mathis, Cindy Braaten, Rob Culp, and Kerrie Culp.

From Cinco Ranch Junior High:  Doug McRorey, Jody Cook, Shelly Linderman, and Kathryn May.

From Exley Elementary:  Wendy Watson Hanne, Cristina Manty, Tammy Mendenhall, and Juan Zapata.

From Fielder Elementary:  Heather Martin, Dawn Sapp, Beth Bishop, and Scott Greene.

From Franz Elementary:  Michelle Dawkins and Jasmine Sharifi.

From Garland McMeans Junior High:  Sharon Parker (Extended Service), Steve Kalke, Amy Williams, and Jennifer Roth.

From Hutsell Elementary:  Dawn Woytek.

From Jeannette Hayes Elementary:  Sharon Dworaczyk, Amy Fowler, and Kathy Odom.

From Katy Junior High: Georgiann Belton and Lori Naegeli.

From Keiko Davidson Elementary:  Lynne Katapodis, Shelly Lorenzo, and Cubendri Back.

From King Elementary:  Bernadette Kingsley and Vandana Rastogi.

From Maydell Jenks Elementary:  Lucia Madero and Kash Aleem.

From Memorial Parkway Junior High:  Cecilia Bell, Thomas (Glen) Dewease, Jamie Borham, Laci Costagliola, and Catherine Huvar (Extended Service).

From Michael L. Griffin Elementary:  Lisa Shott, Robert Teehan, Yvonne Trevino, and Emily Lutz.

From Morton Ranch Elementary:  Robert French.

From Morton Ranch Junior High:  Shawna Pippin and Katrina Williams.

From Nottingham Country Elementary:  Christie Barker, Laci Costagliola, Rachel Ross, Terri Ruocco, and Linda McCormack.

From Odessa Kilpatrick Elementary:  Patricia Gilarranz (Extended Service), Regina Stumpf, Carla Cosper, and Leigh Childs.

From Pattison Elementary:  Dianna Polnac, Laura Sanders, Pennylane Lara, Erin Silkenson, Jamie Bingham, and Matt Schomburg.

From Randolph Elementary:  Reinaldo Gomez, Leah Wilson, and Dana Metz.

From Roosevelt Alexander Elementary:  Shannon Kim (Extended Service), Erin Baumgardner, Ruth Ann Irwin, Lisa Cardina, Jana Olivas, Evelyn Follis, and Chris Simank.

From Seven Lakes Junior High:  Sarah Thai and Patty Martinez.

From Shafer Elementary:  Alicia Leung and Dr. Shilpa Chandiwal.

From Stanley Elementary:  Sara Martinsen and Terri Goodlett.

From Tays Junior High:  Cindy Kissell, Michelle Renaud-Lanteigne, David Calfee, and Dr. Kris Mitzner (Extended Service).

From Tompkins High School:  Crystal Janczak, Julie Donnelly, and Sue Stefani.

From Wolman Elementary:  Melissa Baker, Rachel Parker, and Cynthia Mally.

From WoodCreek Elementary:  Nadia Vaid, Shelley Gross, and Theresa Warren.

From WoodCreek Junior High:  Kendra Larson, Anne Guess, and Debbie Conaway (Extended Service).

Pictures of the event were taken by Joana Agnese.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.